Media Releases  
The Objective One Partnership for Cornwall & the Isles of Scilly
What was Objective One?
Media Releases
Funded projects
Objective One partners
Search facility
You are here: Media releases / July-September 2007 / 16.08.07
Contact us
Site accessibility
Site map

back to media releases menu


A top 20 university for Cornwall

The University of Exeter, which has a campus near Penryn, Cornwall, is listed 17th in The Times Good University Guide 2007, published today (16 August 2007). Data from both the Exeter and Tremough campuses was used to give the University a rating of 726 out of a possible 1000. This is the first time the University of Exeter has been in the top 20. The 113 universities were marked on eight criteria, including student satisfaction, research quality and staff-student ratio.

"Our Tremough Campus students, including the additional 450 we will welcome this October, can be proud of the fact that they will be getting a degree from one of the country's top 20 universities," said Professor Keith Atkinson, Provost of the University of Exeter's Cornwall Campus. "The Tremough Campus gives people from within and outside the county the opportunity to benefit from a world-class education with a research-led University in the unique environment of Cornwall."

In October, the University will welcome over 450 new students to Tremough when the second phase of the campus opens, offering new degrees in Cornish Studies, History, Law and Politics. With a growing team of world-class academics, the University has brought some £5.4m in new research income to Cornwall since 2004.

The University of Exeter established its Cornwall Campus, which it shares with University College Falmouth, in 2002 as part of the Combined Universities in Cornwall (CUC) initiative. The University has been undertaking research and teaching in Cornwall since 1970, when it established its Cornish Studies department. Camborne School of Mines became part of the University of Exeter in 1993 and is now based at Tremough. This year, applications to study with the University of Exeter on the Tremough Campus rose by 146%.

The £100 million Tremough Campus is a Combined Universities in Cornwall initiative of which the University of Exeter and University College Falmouth are two of the founding partners. It is funded mainly by the European Union (Objective One), the South West Regional Development Agency, and the Higher Education Funding Council for England, with support from Cornwall County Council. Set in 70 acres of countryside, but close to the waterside towns of Penryn and Falmouth, the campus offers a lively student community. The University of Exeter now offers degrees in Biology, Cornish Studies, English, Geology, Geography, History, Law, Mining Engineering, Politics and Renewable Energy on its Tremough Campus, which has expanded rapidly as part of the Combined Universities in Cornwall initiative.

The Objective One Programme for Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly has invested in the Combined Universities in Cornwall (CUC) project, both Phase 1 and Phase 2, through the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and the European Social Fund (ESF). University of Exeter is a partner of the CUC.


Editor's notes:

The Times Good University Guide is the leading university guide in the UK and has been published every year since 1993. For more information:

The table is as follows:

1 Oxford
2 Cambridge
3 Imperial College
4 London School of Economics
5 St Andrews
6 University College London
7 Warwick
8 Bristol
9 Durham
10 King's College London
11 Bath
12 Loughborough
13 Edinburgh
14 Southampton
15 Aston
16 York
17 Exeter
18 School of Oriental and African Studies
19 Nottingham
20 East Anglia
21 Leicester
22 Sheffield
23 Newcastle
24 Royal Holloway
25 Reading
26 Birmingham
27 Lancaster
28 Cardiff
29 Manchester
30 Leeds
31 Glasgow
32 Aberdeen
33 Queen's Belfast
34 Liverpool
35 Sussex
36 Essex
37 Stirling
38 Kent
39 Aberystwyth
40 Surrey
40 City
42 Queen Mary, London
42 Hull
44 Strathclyde
45 Heriot-Watt
46 Swansea
47 Bangor
48 Bradford
49 Oxford Brookes
50 Dundee
51 Brunel
52 Goldsmiths College
53 Ulster
54 Keele
55 Robert Gordon
56 Nottingham Trent
57 Lampeter
58 Queen Margaret Edinburgh
59 University of the Arts, London
60 Plymouth
61 Brighton
62 Glasgow Caledonian
62 Bournemouth
64 Staffordshire
65 Glamorgan
66 UCE Birmingham
67 Napier
68 Chichester
69 Winchester
70 Central Lancashire
71 Roehampton
72 West of England
73 Northumbria
74 Gloucestershire
75 UWIC, Cardiff
75 Coventry
75 Canterbury Christ Church
78 UWCN, Newport
79 Portsmouth
80 Kingston
81 Sunderland
82 Northampton
83 Salford
84 Bedfordshire
85 Liverpool John Moores
85 Hertfordshire
87 Sheffield Hallam
88 Bath Spa
89 Worcester
90 Manchester Metropolitan
91 Westminster
92 Huddersfield
93 Bolton
94 Paisley
95 Teesside
96 Leeds Metropolitan
97 De Montfort
98 Derby
99 East London
100 Chester
100 Abertay
102 York St John
103 London South Bank
104 Anglia Ruskin
105 Southampton Solent
106 Edge Hill
107 Cumbria
108 Middlesex
109 Lincoln
109 Greenwich
111 Thames Valley
112 Wolverhampton
113 Liverpool Hope


Clare Morgan
Media Relations Manager
Objective One Partnership Office
Castle House
Pydar Street
Truro TR1 2UD
Mobile: 07973 813647
Telephone: 01872 223439

back to topback to top